top of page
Writer's pictureDonna Standridge

Onion-Bacon Jam

Savory-sweet onion-bacon jam with a hint of heat that goes well on so many things from a plain ol' cracker to your best burger or even a classy tenderloin.

I had heard of onion-bacon jam but had never tried any until I went to visit one of my sons in Austin, Texas, and he took me to a place called HopDoddy Burger Bar and insisted I try the Bacon Jam Double Cheese. There was not a lot of arm-twisting to convince me to try this. He had me at bacon. It was heaven on a bun and I highly recommend it, but I digress. Back to this onion-bacon jam stuff. I became completely enamored with it and vowed to figure this stuff out one day. The day is here.


A couple of notes before we start... I use both yellow and red onion in my recipe, as well as a shallot. I like that flavor combination. Feel free to use whatever onion or combination thereof you like. I also like my onion mostly sliced, with a few rough chopped. I basically rough chop 1/2 an onion, then slice the rest into 1/4" slices. I like the texture it gives. You can do that, or you can either slice or rough chop all of it.


You'll also see a lot of these onion-bacon jam recipes that call for a boatload of sugar. You do NOT need that much sugar. TRUST ME. You can use even less than what I put in here and be awesome.


Start with half the amount listed in your spices and work up by taste. If it needs more than the listed amount, use more. The bacon will add a little saltiness, so it is always best to add your salt and other spices gradually. You can always add, but you can't take it away. You want your finished dish to be a balanced one of sweet and savory with a little bit of heat at the end.


This jam is meant to be served at room temperature or slightly warmed. You still need to keep it in the refrigerator, though. It will keep in the fridge for up to 2 weeks, and in the freezer in a glass container for up to 3 months.


Last note: Don't use instant coffee, please. Eew. You'll see.


Ingredients


1 lb regular-sliced (not thick) Bacon, chopped

3 Onions, 1/4" sliced and/or rough-chopped

- 2 1/2 Yellow Onion

- 1/2 Red Onion

1 large Shallot, sliced

1 tablespoon Butter

1/4 Cup Strong Coffee

1/4 Cup Light Brown Sugar, lightly packed and leveled

1 tablespoon Maple Syrup

1 tablespoon Balsamic Vinegar

1 teaspoon Salt - to taste

1/2 teaspoon Cayenne Pepper - to taste

1/4 teaspoon fresh cracked Black Pepper - to taste


Directions


Add chopped bacon to cold, large heavy bottom pot, such as a dutch oven. Cook bacon over medium-high heat until crispy, but do not overcook. When bacon is done, it will foam. Drain bacon and reserve about 4 tablespoons of the bacon grease in the dutch oven.


Add the tablespoon of butter and the onions and shallot. Reduce heat to medium and saute onions until translucent - not brown, making sure to deglaze the bottom of the pot.


After the onions have become translucent, add the coffee, brown sugar, maple syrup, and balsamic vinegar. Stir in bacon.


Allow to cook on medium heat for several minutes. Onions will darken and cook down further and the sauce will thicken. Begin tasting the sauce and adding the spices, tasting as you go until the desired levels are reached. Reduce heat to medium-low and continue to cook until the sauce has thickened to a jam-like consistency and the onions have browned and are very tender, approximately 15-20 minutes.


Cool to room temperature before serving or storing.

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page