top of page
Writer's pictureDonna Standridge

Texas Barbecue Sauce


I’m posting this one for two reasons. One, it is probably the best barbecue sauce I’ve ever come up with, and two, I wanted to get it down somewhere before I forgot what I put in it. Not that I’m getting old and forgetful or anything. On to what Texas BBQ sauce is and all that.


Texas BBQ sauce is a little different than other sauces. It is symphony of tangy, sweet, smoky, flavorful goodness. Definitely not one-note. I’m making some pulled pork for our Dutch oven group today and wanted to make a nice sauce to go with it, so I opened the fridge and roamed the pantry to see what I had, and here we go...


Ingredients


1 Tablespoon Butter

1 small Onion, finely diced

2 cloves Garlic, minced (fresh, not that stuff in a jar)

1 Cup Ketchup

2 Tablespoons Tomato Paste (slightly heaping is good)

1 Tablespoon Dijon Mustard

1/4 Cup Brown Sugar (rounded and packed)

1/4 Cup Lemon Juice

2 Tablespoons Apple Cider Vinegar

2 Tablespoon Worcestershire Sauce

2 Teaspoons Chili Powder

Pinch Cayenne (Optional)

Pinch Campfire Dust or Liquid Smoke (Optional - I’ll explain later)


Directions


In a saucepan (doesn’t have to be a massive one), melt butter over medium heat. Add diced onion and sauté until tender and translucent, but don’t caramelize. Add in the garlic and sauté for approximately another minute until the garlic is fragrant. You don’t ever want your garlic to brown - just calm down the bite and release the flavor.


Reduce the heat to low and add the remainder of ingredients, stirring well. Let it simmer for about 15 minutes to allow the flavors to develop and take the bite off that vinegar.


Notes


This is pretty versatile. If you want it a little more garlicky, add some garlic powder to taste. If you want it spicier, add Cayenne to taste. A little sweeter, add a little more brown sugar - just do it by teaspoonful, though. The sweet can get away from you quickly and the balance of the sauce will just be off. And off-putting. If you don’t have Dijon mustard, use regular mustard.


For a little smokiness, I have done it a couple of different ways. One, I added a good healthy pinch of this seasoning called “Campfire Dust.” It is a basic blend of sea salt, pepper, garlic, sugar, etc. that has been smoked to add that little bit of smoky campfire kick. It isn't a strong kick when added to the sauce, just a nice touch. The brand is Van Roehling and you can get it at Buccee’s, or order it online at www.vrsauce.com. I’m sure any smoky spice blend would work.


If you go the Liquid Smoke route, LITERALLY start off with adding it by the DROP. Like get an eyedropper. Don't be liberally pouring this stuff in there or you'll be mad at me. I go about 10 drops max. Don't say you weren't warned.


Or just leave the smoke stuff out. Up to you.


I promise. You’re gonna love this stuff.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page